Saturday, 20 April 2013


Faridpur is a part of the Dhaka Division and it is situated on the banks of the Padma other smaller rivers include Old Kumar, Arial khan, Gorai, Chandana, Bhubanshwar and Modhumoti river. Over 1.7 million people live this district, 50.55% are male49.23% are female. Rajbari, Gopalgonj, Madaripur, Shariatpur and Faridpur are included this district. The reign of Emperor Akbar In 1582, Bengal was formed into 33 sarkars or financial sub-divisions. Faridpur area was included the sarkar of Muhammad Abud but 1721 Bangla was again made formed 13 large divisions instead of sarkars. Faridpur was separated from Dacca collectorate in 1811. In 1860 the district was named as Faridpur the of Sufi saint Shah Sheikh Fariduddin. In 1862 it is declared that Faridpur town is a municipality. In 1840 the Faridpur Zila School was established which is one of the oldest schools in modern day Bangladesh. In this district Muslim and Hindu are live but major religions are Islam. In this district 88% of people are Muslims and 11% Hindu. There is also some Bihari and Oriya population. It is 20.23 km and consists of 9 upazilas, 4 municipalities, 79 union parishads, 36 wards, 92 mahallas and 1859 villages. The district is mainly agriculture -based country. Most of the farmer grows jute, paddy, blackberry, peanut, wheat, oilseed, pulse, turmeric, onion, garlic and other. Many fruits are also produced, notably, jack fruit, mango, palm, coconut, betel nut, kul, tetul, bel, papaya, banana, and guava. They export jute, Helsa fish and sugarcane.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Speech Of The World Headline Animator